top of page
Search
  • haeschli

Things To Be Thankful For

Since it's a given holiday at this point, we sometimes forget that Thanksgiving is such an American holiday. That being said they don't celebrate it here in the UK. I had class yesterday and had to give presentations. But in an extremely sweet gesture my RLA (the guy that runs my house) hosted a Thanksgiving dinner for all of the residents. He bought/cooked the turkey and decorated with generic Thanksgiving decorations and US flags. (Yes those are extremely hard to find. He said he had to order all the decorations on E-bay or Amazon.) All the rest of us chipped in by bringing sides and desserts. Although I will admit I was a little nervous on how everybody's food would turn out, we had a full Thanksgiving spread and everything was super delicious! We all drank, laughed, and stuffed our faces just as if we were home in the US!


But that got me thinking.. not only about how much I am starting to miss home, but how much I truly have to be thankful for!


I am thankful for my amazingly loving/supportive boyfriend, family, and friends that have continued to check up on me and cheer me on since the day I left. I am thankful for this opportunity to be here in London and for my parents pushing me to make it happen. I am thankful for the wonderful and caring friends that I have made here, they have made this experience so easy to tackle. I am thankful for my job at The Space for renewing my love for theatre as well as bringing me new connections and friends. I am thankful for how well my education at Illinois Wesleyan has prepared me for different experiences in my career field. I am thankful for my own self-education and learning more about who I am as a person. And in general, I am just thankful for where I am in my life and for the future I see ahead of me!


I hope you all had an amazing Thanksgiving! I'll see you soon for Christmas!




27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page