top of page
Search
  • haeschli

My Experience ABC's

I have done so very much since the last time I blogged. I've went to new places, done new things, had family visit, worked, went to class, saw so so many theatre shows, met new people, and so much more. While I would love to write a detailed account of everything that I've been up to, I feel like that would take an exceeding amount of time and quite frankly would be boring for you to read. So instead I figured I would bring things back to basics. And let's be honest it doesn't get anymore basic than the ABC's! In this post, I'll go through the alphabet naming and quickly describing my favorite parts and or thoughts towards my experience so far! Pictures included!



Addams Family Values at Backyard Cinema! This place has by far been one of my favorite experiences! So basically Backyard Cinema is a movie theater that shows older films in themed rooms that change from time to time. They tell you to show up 30 minutes ahead of time, and that's because you go through an entire walk-through experience to get to a beautifully decorated theater with giant bean bag chair seats. A beautiful theater/experience and the Addams Family playing on the screen! Doesn't get better than that!



Brighton Trip! Back in September on my birthday weekend, a group of my friends and I took the train down to Brighton, which is a coastal town south of London. We were right next to the ocean and the weather was absolutely beautiful. Also Brighton is known for its pier full of carnival rides! You already know I rode every single one of those rides!



Classes can make or break any semester. Fortunately, I have been able to take classes this semester mostly because I just wanted to take them. I'm honestly very happy I've had that opportunity. It has made studying abroad less stressful as well as kept me from feeling burnt out. Also top tip to anybody looking to study abroad, take classes that get you out and into the city! You won't regret it!


Dishoom is my literal favorite restaurant! Many people don't know that Indian cuisine is actually a staple in London. If you are looking to try some absolutely amazing Indian food while you're in town, I highly recommend going to Dishoom! I took my family here when they came to visit and they fell in love!


Exploring museums and galleries! Almost all of London's museums are free to enter, and there are more than 170 of them! Like I mentioned in letter C, a lot of classes will take you to museums or galleries almost on a weekly basis; for example I have been to a number of galleries and museums for my Contemporary Photography class.


Fish and chips! You know I have to talk about this! If you want the best fish and chips in town along with a cool drive-in diner feel, go to Poppie's! Thank you Mom for suggesting the place, it was amazing!


General tourist-y things! I've done a good majority of the things people tell you to do when you go to London, including but not limited to Tower Bridge, Tower of London, The London Eye, Big Ben (unfortunately through scaffolding), Westminster, Westminster Abbey (only the outside), St. Paul's Church, and The Shard. While all of that has been fun and I am glad that I did it, I have also found that doing things off-the-beaten-path and less touristy are even more fun!


Harry Potter Bar Experience at The Cauldron! Even if you are not the hugest Harry Potter fan on the planet, go and do this! You get to make your very own magical (and super tasty) drinks in an amazing atmosphere! P.s. when booking your table book downstairs in the basement if possible!



Interning at The Space Theatre! I absolutely love where I work and the people that I work with! Because of The Space, I am learning more about myself as a theatre artist as well as gaining valuable experience. In fact, because of The Space, I feel a new appreciation for what I am doing and feel like I am heading in the right direction in life.



Junkyard Golf Club! A group of friends and I went to this place for a friend's birthday and it was so much fun! Junkyard Golf Club is full of different themed glow-in-the-dark courses all while serving guests crazy fun drinks! Definitely a fun night out with friends!


Keeping busy with my family! I am so beyond grateful that some of my family got to come visit me for a week this past month! Even though they kept me insanely busy, it was such an amazing experience for me to be able to show my family the city that I have come to love so much.


Loving the city that I am in. As I briefly mentioned in letter K, I am absolutely in love with the city of London. To me, this city is so beautiful and so amazingly comfortable. I am more than happy that I chose here to study abroad. I wouldn't of wanted to be studying and living anywhere else!


Markets! They are such an amazing experience and huge part of London's culture. And I am not just talking shopping for material things, I am talking food too! I know people who have made full meals just out of free samples at markets! My favorite markets that I have been to since I have been here have been Camden Market, Portobello Market, and the Columbia Road Flower Market!


Northern Ireland! I recently took a weekend trip to Belfast, Northen Ireland! (Yes, the city where the Titanic was built) We did the Titanic Experience (of course), visited the Giant's Causeway, saw some Game of Thrones filming spots, and met some very nice Irishmen in a pub called Lavery's! Ireland has definitely become one of my favorite places on the planet! I can't wait to go back one day! One weekend just wasn't enough!


Operating like an adult. As funny as that sounds, while in college sometimes you feel like you're in this weird limbo between being an adult and still being a kid. Being away from home in a new city and new country has given me the opportunity to figure things out for myself. I am now much more confident in myself and my "adulting" skills since being here!


Paris, France! While my family was in to visit, we took a Eurostar train to Paris for a day trip! We saw Notre Dome, Atelier des Lumieres Van Gogh Exhibit, The Louvre, and went up to the tippy top of the Eiffel Tower! Yes we did all of that in one single day. I know crazy, right? But totally worth it!



Quickly made good friends. I often feel like I am not the best at making friends, but I have made so many extremely amazing friends since I have been here, both at work and in class. Truly everyone studying abroad with you is just as nervous as you are and also just looking for a friend. Don't be afraid to step out of your comfort zone and to just go out if somebody asks you if you want to go somewhere!


Relaxing and taking a breather. Now I don't mean that in the "laying on your couch watching a movie" kind of way, London is not that kind of city. By relaxing I mean just stopping and looking at the beautiful world around you (as clique as that sounds). Some of my happiest moments here have been just stopping all of the hustle and bustle to look at how beautiful this city is and to take a photo. Don't ever be afraid to take those breather moments!


Showtime! I have seen SO much theatre! I believe I have seen a show almost every week since I have been here! The shows that I have seen include Ghost Stories, On Bear Ridge, A Doll's House, As You Like It, Everybody's Talking About Jamie, Sh!t Theatre Drink Rum With Ex-Pats, Henry V, and so many more! If you go anywhere to see a show while you are in London please go see a show at Shakepeare's Globe Theatre, even if you don't like Shakeapeare it is such an amazing experience!


Tattoo! One thing I had originally said I wanted when I came here was a new tattoo, and I actually got it! I did my homework on tattoo parlors around the city and ended up at Sacred Gold Tattoo. They set me up with the very sweet and extremely talented Sandro, and after 4-5 hours in the chair I now have an amazing new piece of art!


Using my creativity. As an artist there are times in which you feel like you are in a rut when it comes to creativity. The combination of my classes, my job, and just being in this beautiful city has gotten me out of my creative rut and re-inspired me. I have been allowed to explore my creativity in terms of theatre as well as in photography, which truly is an amazing feeling!


Venturing with friends! As I mentioned in letter Q, never be afraid to go out places with your new friends! Some of the best moments and memories I have of this whole experience has been on a whim! Go out! Have Fun! Explore your new home!


Windsor Castle. Now I put this one separately from the "General Tourist-y things" section for a couple of reasons. Yes, I will admit it is partially because it starts with the letter W. But mostly it is because of how I spent the day there with my family. It was just nice to take a slower pace day with my family to explore a place I hadn't been yet. We got to explore the castle and its grounds. Then we headed down the street to a little pub where we got great food, great drinks, and to just enjoy each other's company.



X-ercise and living more healthy (yes, I know that's not how it's spelled, don't judge). Since being in London, I have walked my butt off. Also as eating out is crazy expensive, I have been cooking dinner for myself. Due the combination of these two things along with the fact that the UK uses less preservatives in their food, I have come to realize while at home in the US I haven't always been the healthiest. Now realizing this and how easy it is, I plan to make a change for the better when I get back home.


You really do learn a lot about yourself. I know it sounds cheesy and people always tell you that studying abroad is "a life changing experience", but it is kind of true. Perhaps not as drastic as people make it sound, but still true. I have happily learned a lot about myself while here, and I can't wait to get home and apply what I've learned!


Zealousness towards what the future holds! I am so grateful for this experience! Being here has given me such a fresh perspective on life, and I can't wait for what's in store!



55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page