top of page
Search
  • haeschli

Back to the Grind

My second week here in London has come to an end, and it's crazy to think that already that much time has passed. This past week was a bit slower as it was less vacation like, but rather more about getting back to the grind of school and work.


Besides starting classes this past week, I officially started my internship at The Space Arts Centre on Monday. Everyone at the theatre is so very insightful and friendly! They started me off with doing quite a bit of PR type work, which is something I know I personally forget about when it comes to theatre. It has been extremely insightful to interact with directors and theatre companies on how to promote shows and different events across multiple social platforms. Also top tip to anyone thinking about interning whether it's in theatre or in any other field: Don't be afraid to get your hands dirty and show off your personal set of skills. Very early on in college Illinois Wesleyan's theatre department helped me learn that on an academic scale. Then that mentality was further solidified for me while at The Space this week, when my supervisor needed help setting up equipment for a group performance that particular evening. I was able to bring my knowledge to the table as I was able to set up their sound system and set the levels for the performance while impressing my bosses. To say the least I am loving my new job!


For all the shoppers and foodies out there I have some future food and market tips!


If you are in the Hackney/Shoreditch area of London, there is an absolutely beautiful flower market every Sunday! Myself and a couple of friends went today and it is so cool! However go as early as possible because it does get extremely crowded!

If you are in the mood for some delicious pancakes in London, go to The Breakfast Club (there are multiple locations around the city)! I had the most delicious Salted Caramel Banana Pancakes with vanilla cream and chocolate drizzle! I sadly did not get a picture of them because as soon as they set my plate down they were gone!

Also in the Shoreditch area of London, do yourself a favor and go to Dishoom for some Indian food. The wait is so beyond worth it! I had the most amazing lamb I have ever eaten there!


To close up this post for this week, here are some of my favorite photos!




49 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page